Merlin Guesthouse

,  |  Telephone:
4.77 - based on 239 reviews

My partner and I came with the intention of selecting a guesthouse to use as our base for our wedding next year.  We were not familiar with the Merlin, but the info Mary Simmons provided us made us think this might be the place.  As, in fact, it is. We have decided to use it for ourselves and our wedding guests.  The property is charming without being at all stuffy.  Linda at the front desk was helpful and friendly throughout our stay.  We loved room 14 and will probably choose that as our room in the future. The breakfast was better than we expected.  The chilled spa/pool was welcome in the September heat.

By: on September 9, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

4 / 5


Our group of four ladies had a fantastic time in Key West and staying at Merlin Guesthouse was a big part of that.  We knew almost nothing about Key West before arriving to celebrate my birthday.  How lucky we are we chose these accommodations.  The location was absolutely perfect.  Duval Street is about 1 mile long.  We were at the .5 mile mark and just  two (short) blocks off Duval.  We walked everywhere except the day we rented bikes (from a place a block away) so we could go to the beach further away.  Our room was spacious and immaculate.  We received daily service including a little organization of our bathroom toiletries and even fixing our coffeemaker.  The front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful.  They were accommodating by allowing us to leave our luggage in the office when our plane arrived early and left late.  They also seamlessly handled billing and allowed the four of us to split the bill.

We spent the majority of our days by the perfectly sized pool.  It was the right temperature to give some relief from the summer heat and we loved the jets.  It was an extra perk that tea, sunscreen, towels and magazines were stocked under the nearby cabana. The cabana was similarly impressively stocked for breakfast.  It had everything we wanted: fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, light local pastries, cereal.

Overall, the four of us agreed that when we return to Key West, there is no need to look anywhere other than Merlin Guesthouse for a great place to stay.  We were 100% satisfied.

By: on September 3, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


Totally enjoyed our stay at the Merlin Guesthouse.  Everyone was very friendly, breakfast great and the spa was perfect.  Anxious to go back when the weather is a little cooler.

By: on September 2, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


The property is beautiful, and first thing we noticed stepping into our room is a hand-painted coconut with our names and wedding date on it from Mary Simmons…what hotel does that!?! That was SO special to us we loved it (it’s already being displayed in our living room) We had our wedding party stay there as well and we loved how every room was different and unique. They were amazing to work with and could not have asked for a better place to stay. When we return to Key West we will, without a doubt, stay at Merlin Guesthouse and no where else! :)

By: on September 1, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We had an amazingly wonderful time at the Merlin during our stay in Key West.  The staff, especially Linda, went above and beyond satisfying all of our needs.  The spa/pool is amazing after a long hot day walking the length and breath of Duval Street.

By: on September 1, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


Merlin Guesthouse is a paradise! We arrived after hours and were given detailed instructions on how to get into our room. We rented the King Suite and oh my! When I walked up to the room, I was in awe! The room was amazing! Very roomy with couches and a king bed plus a huge bathroom that me and my sister could get ready together in very comfortably. I love the bungalow look with the inviting glass french doors attached to a wonderful porch tucked behind the pool with a hammock off the porch. The pool was fun to hang out at with friends as well. Plus it is one block from Duval and within walking distance to many other attractions. We also decided to stay an extra day and they accommodated us with no questions asked.  The people there are soooo friendly and personable. I will definitely be staying here again. I tell everyone I know about this place! Loved it!

Jody Montgomery

By: on August 28, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We stayied at the Merlin Guesthouse just for one night, and the overall quality of the hotel was excellent. Only the breakfast was not as satisfying while the rooms were huge and with fine furniture as well as clean.

By: on August 26, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


I forgot to note that we had no issue parking and throughout our 4 day stay we saw the parking spots empty several times. Don’t let that stop you from staying at this hotel! It’s worth it!!

By: on August 25, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


Some people say that Key West is not a family friendly vacation spot but our 4 night stay at Merlin Guesthouse with our 2 children ( 2 years and 8 mos) was the best family vacation ever!! We stayed in a queen suite, which was the most charming cottage that had fun and modern décor, and had a bedroom separate from the kitchen and bathroom…which is exactly what parents with small children are looking for. From the moment we arrived the staff was nothing but super welcoming and bent over backwards to accommodate us and our children. They brought out pool toys for them when we were swimming and cleaned our room according to our nap schedule…which just shows what excellent customer service they provide. The complimentary breakfast was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and it was awesome! They had little ham and swiss pastries from a local baker and various egg dishes, bagels, cereal, yogurt and fruit. The hotel also keeps fresh tea poolside which was perfect and refreshing in the Florida summer. They had on-point recommendations for dinner and things to do.

All in all, it was an awesome vacation and we couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay. We keep raving and recommending our friends to go there. We live in Fort Lauderdale so it was the perfect weekend getaway and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay at Merlin Guesthouses again.

Plus, our 2 year old daughter loved Jordan, the local cat, and just yesterday she asked that we buy her a book about Key West so she can keep remembering it. A perfect family vacation for sure!

By: on August 25, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


Having not seen the place before I got there, I was a little skeptical about what we were getting ourselves into.  Luckily, there wasn’t anything to worry about once we arrived.  The check-in process took about 5 minutes, and we were on our way to our room.

We stayed in one of the king suite rooms, which we thought was very nice.  The room was nice and clean, and the bed was very comfortable.  The area around our room was nice and private, not crammed in right next to other rooms.  The room had everything we needed (see fridge, decent tv, microwave, storage for clothes and stuff).  The whole complex has an authentic/historic feel to it, which is cool.  Something you may not get at a chain hotel type of place.  The location is perfect for getting anywhere on the island.  It’s within walking distance of anything you might need.  Anything you can’t walk to, you can easily ride a bike to.

The staff was super nice and helpful the entire time.  The cat that hangs around the place was also very nice.  We never had any issues at all with our room/stay, so we never needed to talk to the staff much besides check-in, check-out, and just talking to them about our stay throughout the week.

We did not have a vehicle during our time down there, but decided to rent bicycles for the week.  This is the way to go if you ask me.  You can get anywhere on the island with a bike, and you never have to worry about parking spaces or driving.  We even rode over to stock island a few times.

I would recommend checking out the bars down on Duval Street just because they’re so much fun.  Irish Kevin’s has some great entertainers there, namely New York Pauly.  The fishing is phenomenal if you’re into that type of thing.  We went out on a backcountry fishing trip, which was a lot of fun.  We used Key West Pro Guides to charter the trip.  Also, there’s  a great place to eat over on Sunset Key called Latitudes.  It’s pricey, but the views of the sunset there are awesome and the food is great.  We found that the Fort Zachary Taylor beach was the best one to hang out on during the day.  It’s larger for Key West standards, and the views and water are nice.  It is a coral based beach, so I would bring some water shoes or sandals to walk around in so your feet don’t hurt.

All in all, our stay was awesome.  Would not change a thing.  We’ll be staying at the Merlin Guesthouse again when we come down for the Key West half marathon in January!

-Justin and Jess

By: on August 25, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5