Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Here you will find, in the words of our guests, trusted & authentic reviews for Chelsea House. These are reviews from guests who have stayed with us, telling their experiences about their guestroom, our hotel and service from the Historic Key West Inns team.
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
709 Truman Avenue Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 305.296.2211
4.63 - based on 104 reviews

Overall our stay was very pleasant and when we return to Key West we will most likely stay at Chelsea House.  We have two small dogs and appreciated a place to stay in Key West.  Our only difficulty was the absence of grass area(s) for our dogs. The doggy bags were a nice touch.  One possible improvement would be to add a grassy area, either real grass or artificial turf (which there are some really great products available for pooches).

The room was very clean and well equipped although a bit small (#10 unit). The only downside was no flat areas in bathroom to place items on.  Maybe a shelf above the sink would be helpful.

Again, thanks for a pleasant stay.

By: on April 14, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

4 / 5


Was a very good time there! Great location, very central, free parking, very friendly staff, great pool and garden, super breakfast next to the pool!!!! Really great choice!!! Hopefully coming back soon!!!

By: on April 7, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5


Chelsea House is a charming hotel, and we enjoyed our stay there. No, it doesn’t have the amenities and glitz of an expensive resort. But it was quiet and quaint, and the atmosphere was tropical and fun, all for a decent price. We stayed there for a wedding, along with about 10 other wedding guests, all of whom had a great time. The rooms were well sized, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very accommodating, from check-in, to planning activities, to check-out. They had a complimentary cold breakfast buffet that provided the breakfast basics, and they had complimentary iced tea by the pool throughout the day. The pool was great! Not huge but well sized for the size of the hotel.

We were 2 blocks from Duval street, about midway between the east and west end of Duval, which made it easy to go out on the town without needing a car or other transportation. We were within easy walking distance of other activities in Key West too (full disclosure, we are from NYC and are used to walking a bit). I liked being a little deeper within real key west, instead of at one of the large resorts or along the touristy Duval street. They had ample parking for everyone.

By: on April 3, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

4 / 5


This is our second stay for my husband and I. We were quite comfortable with our king size bed and asked for the same room number again. Pool is relaxing, sun deck is optimal UV index, continental breakfast is fresh and local items. Afternoon tea helps to rehydrate. Love the new red cushioned patio furniture. Betsy was always a huge help and eager to hear of our adventures. We also visited the Mojito Bar twice at the Lighthouse Court Hotel, another of their properties. Enjoyed Ray and Peter’s company and fresh mojito’s. Can’t wait to come back, may even bring our teen daughters. Got a room for 4?

By: on April 2, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

4 / 5


The inn was clean and quite.  It is off Truman Ave and I was concerned about the noise from the street, but it was very quite.  I would stay there again.

By: on March 31, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5


Historic but comfortable and very clean, the Chelsea House experience was good.  We loved the private pool area for breakfast, lounging and swimming.   The staff were very helpful and pleasant.   Very central location for walking to attractions and lots of good eating.

By: on March 30, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5


I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the historical setting. The rooms were updated nicely. They were small, but it was to be expected for a historical property. The front desk staff was exceptional and very helpful and accommodating. I really like the historical properties and to make it the best stay will request a larger room. Everything else was perfect! The continental breakfast was just enough to get us through to lunch. The muffins were fabulous. Parking was free. Two blocks from Duval, although it was a short walk to night life. Can’t say enough good things about the staff! Thanks again!

By: on March 18, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

4 / 5


I had a nice time staying at the Chelsea House. The staff was very good on making sure our stay was the best it could be. The location is very nice as well easy to get to about anywhere. I would recommend this place to friends.

By: on March 17, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5


We were greeted with a smile… We wanted to stay an extra night and they gave us a great rate to stay that night… The room was very clean and well taken care of.. We were very happy staying at the Chelsea house… We will hope to stay again!!! Thanks again for a great time!!

By: on March 17, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5


We stayed in Chelsea House for one night during the middle of March. The hotel staff was extremely professional and helpful compared to many places we have stayed in the past. Our room was clean and all of the appliances worked perfectly. My favorite part of Chelsea House is the building itself and the location. The gorgeous house is within walking distance to Duval but far away not to be disturbed by the noise at night. I would highly recommend  Chelsea House to anyone looking for a quiet and clean place to stay close to downtown.

By: on March 16, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

5 / 5