Cypress House Hotel

601 Caroline Street Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 305-294-6969
4.85 - based on 911 reviews

Just steps from the tourist shops, bars, and restaurants dotting Duval Street, and a short stroll to Mallory Square, the Cypress House Hotel manages to be a quiet respite to an exciting Key West vacation destination. Checking in to this Key West Hotel was a breeze and the concierge provided us a brief tour of the grounds, offered up ideas for things to do, and suggested places for us to go. And because the hotel isn’t very big, we were always greeted by a familiar face when coming or going, or during breakfast or ‘Liming Hour’–the latter, a souvenir we returned home with. Liming Hour offered a different complimentary cocktail and snack each afternoon (our favorite was the Cypress punch) and made for the perfect time to come home from a busy day out, relax by the pool for a bit, and then clean up and head out for the evening.

The rooms were also fantastic. They were updated to be more contemporary but retained some of their original charm (the building itself was from the 19th century). Everything was open, bright, and breezy, making the need for AC pretty limited against the Florida sun.

We can’t wait to go back to the Cypress House Hotel. The combination of location, service, and the hotel itself put our four-day vacation over the top. Highly recommend the Cypress House Hotel for your next visit.

By: on April 20, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


This hotel is clean. Cute and perfect location!! Will be coming back.

By: on April 10, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


I had the pleasure of staying at Cypress House Hotel recently. I stay in key west often and always at a guest house. I found the Cypress House staff to be the friendliest and most accommodating people I have dealt with. They actually cared about my situation of possible jury duty and helped me. I will definitely stay there again as the location is perfect also. I look forward to trying the other guest houses owned by this company. Immaculate room and delightful tropical grounds too. Thanks again.

By: on April 10, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


Traveling to Key West many times I wanted to get a great location with a pool and nice rooms. Cypress House Hotel was exactly the location where we wanted to stay. Close to Duval St. and close to the marina but a few blocks away so still quiet. The 2 couples we invited on the trip fell in love with Cypress House. They have also been to Key West multiple times and we all agree that Cypress House was the best location, cleanest, and most personal place we have stayed. From the time you check in to the time you leave, they are there to make sure your stay is great. We loved the happy hour at the pool with an adult beverage and small snack. The continental breakfast was great and much more than just bagels. All the room are different and great in their own way. We can’t wait to go back!!!!!

By: on April 3, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


Loved everything about staying here! We brought my mom with us, so had 2 rooms. She needed to be on the first floor and have a walk-in shower, and was very happy with her room. Rooms were very comfortable with dressers and drawers in the bathroom vanity so we could unpack everything and not be living out of the suitcase. Bed was a nice quality mattress and we slept very well. Nice to have a small refrigerator, though we really didn’t need it – they were happy to get us Lactaid, anything special. Breakfast was always good, and it was fun to talk with others staying there during breakfast and happy hour. Great staff, all such nice people! The pool was very warm – all good!!!

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


My training team traveled to key west for our annual meeting. The hotel was very accommodating and helpful. We had a wonderful stay!

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


Many come to Key West for the hustle and bustle of Duval Street or maybe to spend some time on the water. The Cypress House Hotel is a short walk to all of that and more, while offering the opportunity to relax and journey back to the times of old Key West.

This historic boutique hotel has a ton of character and although it is about a 2 minute walk from all of the action, you would never know it. Dennis, Scott and the rest of the crew do an amazing job of creating a relaxing ambiance to come home to after a day/night on the town. The rooms/grounds are always clean and the back patio has a pool and a comfortable lounging area. Additionally, there is a daily complimentary breakfast and liming (happy) hour with hors d’oeuvres.

My wife and I have been staying at the Cypress House Hotel for years and will keep coming back. There is no place better for the full Key West experience.

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


Just returned from our first trip to Key West.  Very pleased with our choice of hotel.  Reservation process with Historic Key West Inns was both smooth and helpful.  LOVED the location of Cypress House. Close to many things yet still quiet overnight.  Only a block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the marina. Breakfast, while not fancy, certainly was enough for my wife and myself. Afternoon cocktail hour also a nice touch.  Will definitely be recommending both this hotel and the other Historic Key West Inns hotels to friends and relatives.

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

4 / 5


I couldn’t rave enough about this hotel.  So much character, so “neat” as my mom would say.  The fact that it was originally owned by the person responsible for naming the Kemp’s Ridley turtle is even cooler.  The room was huge, the bathroom even bigger.  Skylights on the 3rd floor are a great touch.  Love the maze of stairs at the back of the house, you really feel like you’re staying in a secret spot.  Perfectly clean. Wonderful, thoughtful happy hour.  Helpful staff.  Great location!  Only slight concern is that since the house historic, the walls and windows are thin so you can hear EVERYTHING on the street below (trash trucks, motorcycles at 3 am, drunk people, etc).  Other than that, loved it.  I would definitely recommend and come stay here again.

Favorite restaurant we found was probably Point 5 on Duval. Neat little hideaway spot.

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5


Scott was extremely helpful upon our arrival.  Felt like I walked into my old friends house and greeted with a smile!

We arrived early and stowed our bags, after which we went out to enjoy a fantastic 1st day in Old Key West….we even took a ride on the World Famous Conch Train….which after doing it highly recommend.  It made the rest of our stay more enjoyable.  I like knowing some of the historical pieces of information that put our visit in perspective with the New “Old” Key West.

We had lunch at Pepe’s (scotts recommended spot) and enjoyed it very much.  Historic restaurant with excellent food and service.

Our stay was great and especially the location of Cypress House.  We walked most places and enjoyed the convenience of being close to the center of town.

I would definitely like to return for a longer stay!

Thank you!

 

By: on March 31, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Cypress House Hotel

5 / 5