Merlin Guest House

811 Simonton Street Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 305-296-3336
4.82 - based on 909 reviews

This was our first stay at the Merlin Guest House.  We have stayed at the Albury Court 4-5 times in the past and loved that property but wanted to try another one of the Historic Inns.  The Merlin Guest House was fantastic!  The location was great for access to Duval Street without being noisy (at all!).  The Deluxe King room was very spacious and beautifully appointed. The garden and pool areas are beautiful and the staff were all very friendly, helpful and accommodating.  We would definitely stay there again without question.

By: on November 13, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


I had a wonderful stay at the Merlin Guest House in mid-August. Everyone I interacted with at the hotel was charming and pleasant, guests and staff both. I definitely plan on coming back in the not too distant future.

-Alex

By: on September 25, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We stayed at the Merlin Guest House this year after coming to Key West for the first time last September and staying in a VRBO near Southernmost. There were 4 of us in our group, and we travel each September since it is the “slow season” in Florida where all 4 of us live (Fort Myers), and we were all 4 beyond pleased with the service, friendliness and amenities of the Merlin Guest House.  At check-in, we were met by Linda, who was extremely helpful and made the first impression of Merlin a great one! She told us all about the Inn and where to go during the day to celebrate the 20 year anniversary of the Historic Key West Inns with the special pricing pass we were awarded for staying during this time. The rooms were extremely spacious, clean, and well-maintained! Michelle and her co-workers checked on us at least twice a day during our stay, something none of us had experienced before. The bathroom was extremely modern, and I plan on using a similar shower setup when we remodel our home down the road, very impressive! The next day, we met Kenneth who was extremely insightful and courteous at breakfast, giving us a few attractions to see, and even recommended the sunset cruise which the other couple went on and came back delighted! Kenneth even held our bags on check-out when we had some time to kill before the Key West Express Ferry left around 5, very nice of him to do! As far as attractions and recommendations, Linda recommended Bagatelle, which was very good, as well as the Blue Macaw when she heard we had a Bloody Mary fan in the group, best Bloody’s on the island hands down! My girlfriend and I mentioned to Kenneth we were visiting the winery and the Papa’s Pilar distillery and he recommended the Greene Street Cigar Bar for a stop after the tastings, and that was one of the highlights of the entire trip! We had fantastic cigars, local draft beer, a great young band and played dominoes to “pregame” for Duval. My girlfriend even learned how to smoke a cigar, all thanks to Kenneth’s advice, and we look forward to going back the next time we are in town! I could ramble on, but in short, the rooms were great for our group of 4 and well-maintained the entire weekend. The only thing better was the service, Linda, Michelle and Kenneth really made us feel like locals and made the trip all the more memorable. The experience was well worth the price, and I would even have paid more for what we received, my only regret is that we didn’t stay here last year, but Merlin Guest House is now ‘Our Spot” and we have already recommended it to friends and family that visit the Keys. Thank you again for the advice, and hospitality, you made our annual Key West trip one for the record books!

By: on September 11, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


I can not say enough great things about our stay here. This was our 4th time staying at the Merlin.  From the friendly staff at check in, the beautiful Key West style room, attention to detail and delightful continental breakfast.  We had a wonderful anniversary weekend at the Merlin Guest House and would recommend it to anyone wanting some rest and relaxation as well as being close to all that Key West has to offer. Great staff, great memories-hands down just a great time!  Thanks for a terrific weekend!

By: on September 6, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


Merlin Guest House was fabulous!! Everything described and shown online was exactly as shown! Room was perfect and the grounds were quaint, beautiful and clean. Staff was very attentive and friendly upon arrival, during our stay and when we left. Location was quiet yet central to everything. I would highly recommend Merlin Guest House to all and look forward to a return stay myself.

By: on September 5, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


I had never been to Key West before and so I did a lot of research on different lodging options before coming across the Merlin Guest House. When I booked the hotel, I had selected the most basic room because I did not think I would be hanging around the facility enough and would take advantage of all the amenities of the Keys. To my surprise upon checking in, the staff had upgraded my room and gave us a beautiful King Sized suite! It was such a treat to my friend and I who had come on this trip with me after my boyfriend had ended things with me a week before the trip! What started as a fun trip turned into a journey of healing and Merlin Guest House was the best place to be during this time. What a beautiful escape from the everyday world! The entire set up was completely relaxing and we ended up spending so much time lounging around the pool and enjoying our spacious and cozy room! The staff recommended things for us to do while we were there and we ended up going on an Eco Tour with The Lazy Dogs. What a fun time that was! They also recommended the restaurant across the street, Duece’s off the Hool and I think we ate there three times because it was so good! and so close! All in all, this was one of the best places I’ve ever stayed at on a vacation and I will most certainly return in the future! The staff was amazing, the town was beautiful, the grounds were well kept and relaxing. The only thing I would recommend is adding some floral components to the greenery. I could not have asked for a better experience at this Guest House and I do thank you for giving me a place to heal!

By: on August 29, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


Very cozy place to relax! I don’t know if I’ll ever get to come back to Key West but would love to stay at Merlin Guest House if I do. Thanks!

By: on August 27, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


It is absolutely the best place to stay in Key West.  Beautiful rooms, grounds and staff.  Everything close by, but quiet if you like.  I will never stay anywhere else.  Thank you for the amazing weekend with family and friends.

By: on August 22, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


Whenever my wife and I come to Key West we won’t stay anywhere else other than the Merlin Guest House.  Close to Duval St and centrally located it is by far the best location. As for the accommodations they are spectacular. It feels like you’re in a secluded resort when you’re there.  The staff is great, very gracious, and will help you with whatever they can.   We love the Merlin Guest House!!!!

By: on August 22, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


My husband and I have stayed at the Merlin Guest House several times many years ago and I wanted my daughter to enjoy a mini vacation in Key West, therefore telling her about your facilities and I can say you didn’t let me down. Kenny was so helpful and anything we needed or wanted was taken care of immediately. Room always clean, breakfast delightful. I could go on and on but I think you get my point. The Merlin Guest House is always my first thought for any of my family or friends when they say they are going to Key West. Thank you for a great stay.

 

By: on August 20, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5