Merlin Guest House

811 Simonton Street Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 305-296-3336
4.82 - based on 932 reviews

My husband & I had a wonderful experience at the Merlin Guest House over Christmas. We arrived late, but Michaelle was waiting for us , quick check in. The staff were very accommodating but not intrusive.  We appreciated the breakfast buffets which weren’t just fruit & pastry, they take it up a notch with enough fuel to last the walkabouts. Location is great! Samantha (Sam) the property manager took the time to sit & chat with us at the pool. Our only suggestion is create a little closet space as our room only had a couple of pegs to hang clothes. Thank you , wish we were there right now!!!

By: on January 3, 2018
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We loved this quaint Inn.  The grounds are beautiful and you don’t get the feeling that you are in the thick of the ‘tourist’ activity but the location is so convenient to both the waterfront and Duval Street.

Yes, the room was small (We were in #1) but it was cute, clean and comfortable.  There isn’t a lot of hanging space for clothes, just a few hooks – but there’s a dresser, and bench at the foot of the bed for ‘storage’.  Our stay was 2 nights so we didn’t have a lot that needed to be put away.  The bathroom door was louvered and just behind the wall where the bed head was parked….in case that’s an issue for a guest, it can feel like a little lack of privacy.

Kenneth, who greeted us at check-in was welcoming and helpful.  I enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

My new favorite spot is just a couple of blocks away- the Blue McCaw for Happy Hour; awesome Bloody Mary bar and special appetizers!

 

 

By: on December 29, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

4 / 5


Great location and nice room!  Pool really warm so it was nice to go in the morning to start the day even in winter if there is such a thing in key west.  Thanks for a great stay!

By: on December 29, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


This is a fantastic hotel located within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to go to. The room was a bit small but that was not unexpected. The entire staff  including the hotel’s cat, Jordan, was exceptionally nice and welcoming. We will definitely stay again!

By: on December 29, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We love staying at the Merlin Guest House. It is the perfect location to walk anywhere on the island. The rooms, pool, and breakfast options are great! We can’t wait to stay here again.

By: on December 24, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We just had another wonderful stay at the Merlin Guest House. This was our fourth stay in the last couple of years. The reservation and check-in process are a breeze. The staff at the Merlin Guest House is terrific especially Kenneth and Linda. The rooms are very clean. The king size rooms are well worth the extra cost as they are very large with a sitting area, mini-refrigerator, microwave, and pod coffee maker. The location is good just a couple blocks to Duval. A great start for the day is the continental breakfast with juice, coffee, bagels, cereal, yogurt, toast, and ham and cheese croissants. The heated pool (nice on the few “chilly” days in Key West) is great way to relax. Right across the street is a great restaurant Deuces Off the Hook–very goof food and you can eat in or pick it up and take back to the Merlin Guest House. We would recommend the Merlin Guest House for anyone wanting a real Key West experience. We will be back again and again and in fact have already booked for 2018.

By: on December 22, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


This was our second stay at the Merlin Guest House, this was just an overnight stay but our previous was a week in one of the cottages! Both were excellent, very clean and friendly staff.  Check in was actually fun!  The staff joked around around and made us feel welcome. Location is great for everything we wanted to do and the Restaurant across the street was wonderful! The morning breakfast at the hotel is also very nice.  We would definitely return for another stay!

By: on December 22, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We lived in Key West for ten years.  Have been visiting for thirty.  Never gone into the Merlin Guest House complex.  It is far larger than we realized. Lots of different settings one can choose.  Complimentary breakfast by the pool.  Our own little deck facing the pool.  Tall ceilings, large bathroom, great bed.  You get the picture. Staff very pleasant.  Very clean room.  No complaints. We also went out to Stock Island or its new Key West nickname.  The Isle of Stock.  And had a great meal at Roostica.  And then stopped at All Washed Up and couldn’t resist several pieces by the young artist there. One more thing.  The Merlin Guest House is as convenient as any location down there.

 

 

 

 

By: on December 21, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5


We had a wonderful time on our visit. We enjoyed the central location and convenience to everything.  Will see you next time. (and Jordan too).

By: on December 21, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

4 / 5


We went to Miami for a 2 weeks holiday. The city was busy and we wanted to have some calm days also. We decided to visit Key West and based on the recommendations we selected the Merlin Guest House. We wanted to live in the historic part of the city where we can reach everything by walking. The Merlin Guest House was the best choice for it. Everything was within 10 minutes walk. The hotel and the hospitality were excellent. We loved our room with the colonial atmosphere. The breakfast in the small garden was fine to start the day. The reception (arrival and check-out was a pleasure and part of the familial feeling as the staff was excellent – we felt like when our grannies welcome us at home J. For sure we will return!

By: on December 13, 2017
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guest House

5 / 5