Merlin Guesthouse

811 Simonton Street Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 800-549-4430
4.79 - based on 331 reviews

My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights at Merlin in January 2015. I ran the half marathon on the island and it was in a great location for the start of the race. We arrived late on Saturday and good thing we called because the person at the desk left said she was leaving at 10pm. We stayed in room 7 and it was very clean and pretty but quite small with no closet at all. We didn’t care that the room was small since we weren’t spending much time in it but it would have been nice to have an armoire or somewhere to hang more than a few pieces of clothing. Housekeeping kept the room very clean. There was a nice front porch area facing Simonton St to sit and people watch but at night and early morning it could be quite loud from car traffic since it’s one street off Duval. That’s also a good thing too because the location is great and central to all attractions via walking. We ditched the rental car the next day since it’s not necessary. We rented bikes and a scooter as ways to get around. The front desk folks were helpful with storing our luggage on our last day and offered to store a doggie bag which was accidentally tossed – the woman at the desk (I forget her name) was very apologetic and it became a little joke between her and us. The pool was clean and heated. The continental breakfast was fine for something quick but I would suggest Sarabeths a few blocks down – pricy but excellent food. We had very good food experiences in Key West – a few are La Te Da for drinks and cabaret shows, Alonso’s for happy hour apps and oysters, Martinis for 50% off happy hour tapas and drinks, we heard Louie’s Backyard is not to be missed but we couldn’t get reservations. Half Shell Raw Bar is a fun spot too. Overall we loved our stay and Key West was a blast. We will definitely come back and stay with Historic Key West Inns. We would recommend this place to family and friends.

By: on January 30, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

4 / 5


We planned to stay from January 12 untill friday 16th 2015 at The Merlin Guesthouse but because our connecting flight was delayed we arrived 1 day later. When we arrived Kenneth was already waiting for us. Check in was quick and finally we could unpack our stuff in the gorgeous 2 bedroom cottage. It was very clean and inviting! The beds were very comfortable, I liked the duvets very much. Breakfast was really good, eggs, muffins, bread with a toaster, swiss rolls with ham and cheese, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, coffee, tea and orange juice.

If you want to visit the most southern point it’s better to visit the pier and the end of White Street because this is really the most southern point! And also you get a much better view of the sunset here than you have on Mallory Square!

We had a really good lunch at La Te Da in Duval street. Great Salads and Mimosa’s. During our stay we tried Key Lime Pie at different places, but the one at La Te Da was the best!

Well it’s a long journey from the Netherlands but I can’t wait to come back!

By: on January 29, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We had an unavoidable problem with our room the first night.  The real test of a property is how they respond to problems, and the Merlin Guesthouse delivered in a big away.  Very nice, laid back, good location, we’ll be back.

By: on January 28, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My husband and I recently returned from our stay at the Merlin Guesthouse.  I have been to Key West many times, and can say, the Merlin Guesthouse is a gem!  Nestled in between beautiful Key West palm trees, this hotel offers the amenities of larger hotels without the crowds.  Merlin Guesthouse is conveniently located to wonderful restaurants and Duval is only a short two block walk.  Linda and Ken along with the wonderful maintenance staff worked to make our stay a pleasure.  Our room, #22, was beautifully appointed.  Aside from being super clean, the amenities (awesome coffee, delicious daily breakfast, spotless pool and endless filtered water) made this stay one of our best.  The grounds offer a true Key West experience.  I would highly recommend The Merlin Guesthouse, whether as a romantic getaway or a family vacation.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Viviana

By: on January 26, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


This was my second stay at Merlin Guesthouse.  I liked my room #12 this year.  I’m so glad the TV was adjusted so that I could see the screen.  The two managers on duty are the same each year and they are great!  (Kenneth and I’m drawing a blank re: the woman.)  They are always  professional, courteous and responsiveness to my needs.  Each was knowledgeable about the hotel and the local area. The housekeeping staff cleaned my room well each day. Check-in and check-out was easy. I have recommend your hotel to a friends but I do not know anyone traveling to KW. I attended the Key West Literary and Writing Seminars and then joined KWLS on its trip to Cuba.

By: on January 23, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We just got back from a 2 night stay at the Merlin Guesthouse.

It is in a great location. Just 2 blocks off Duval street. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a great stay. We will definitely stay here again.

By: on January 19, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We spent one night in a king suite and it was awesome. The next night we had to move to a queen room. Despite notice to the contrary, we were able to find parking. Location is excellent. Breakfast was good. Staff was persistent. Lady who checked us in was great — wish I remembered her name. We will be back.

By: on January 19, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My aunt and I stayed for four nights and remarked over and over how pleased we were with the accommodations.  The rooms are clean, pretty, and inviting.  The beds are comfortable.  The grounds fit perfectly with the tropical ambiance.  Super food for breakfast.  The other guests were ejnoying the pool.  It was quiet!

By: on January 19, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My wife and I were visiting family in Naples, FL and decided to take a quick trip down to the Keys.  We had originally planned to do some camping, but since it was the high season we weren’t able to find any decent spots.  We knew a hotel would be pricey, but decided to treat ourselves and book a place right in the center of Key West so we could walk/bike to everything we wanted to see.  Upon arriving, I went to check in as my wife attempted to find a parking spot.  We knew this might prove to be difficult as we had read that the Merlin did not have designated guest spots and parking on Key West is limited.  However, before I was finished checking in, my wife returned having found a spot right outside the hotel-definitely a benefit of arriving on a Sunday.  We left the car there for the entire trip.

The check in process went smoothly and the staff was extremely friendly. Our room was located just around the corner from the office and just off the street.  I imagine that it could get noisy during busy times, but we had no issues during our stay.  The wood floors in the room were really nice and we liked how the historic feel of the structures was kept while the necessary renovations were made to keep it feeling fresh and clean.  Everything in the room seemed new, classy, and modern.  The vaulted ceiling was an especially nice touch.  The pool was small and warm, but inviting.  We loved all the natural South Florida vegetation surrounding the patio.  The continental breakfast was just right and we enjoyed conversation with one employee, Kenneth, who told us about his time in Central America.  Everyone we met who worked at the hotel was extremely friendly and welcoming.

The location was perfect.  We walked to get food, and see the Hemingway house and just down the street to rent bikes to ride around the island and go to Smather’s Beach.  When it came time to leave we wished we could stay for the rest of the week.

Restaurants were OK, but being vegetarian we always hope for more options.  Having the Sugar Apple Health Food store right down the street was nice, but due to timing we were only able to get lunch there for the ride home-it was delicious.  We also enjoyed tacos at Amigos-great service.  The Cafe was a little disappointing.  A bit overpriced and they were out of some things/ got our order wrong.

All in all we had an amazing time and would definitely consider the Merlin Guesthouse for our next Key West adventure.

By: on January 19, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


We had an excellent stay at Merlin Guesthouse.  I loved the service.  The staff was very friendly and accommodating.  The proximity to Duval was a major plus.  Our room was very clean.  I would highly recommend Merlin to anyone wishing to stay in Key West for a few days.

By: on January 19, 2015
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5