Merlin Guesthouse

811 Simonton Street Key West, Florida 33040 USA  |  Telephone: 800-549-4430
4.78 - based on 263 reviews

My husband and I found the Merlin Guesthouse to be a delightful place to stay for a trip back to Key West.  We had been staying in Hollywood Beach for two weeks and decided to get back to Key West after a 13 year absence.  The office staff were wonderful and helped us park in the neighborhood.  The grounds and pool area were beautiful. Our room was very well done.  The Merlin helped make a quick trip to Key West even more memorable.  I would definitely return.

By: on October 22, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


From the moment we arrived it was as if we stepped back 60 years to a Key West that was. Checking in was effortless and painless. The staff were super friendly and professional and had a  a wealth of knowledge about the Keys, restaurants and attractions. Kenneth was a trip, what a pleasant and positive guy, as were the house keeping staff . Our accommodations were clean, modern and well appointed, combining the old with the new in a very comfortable mix. Peg and I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at your B&B to our family and friends and look forward to revisiting you in the near future.

Thank you and your staff  for making our first B&B experience such a relaxing and enjoyable one.

By: on October 21, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

4 / 5


Enjoyed our stay immensely! Been  going to Merlin for years and always enjoy the helpful staff and peaceful setting. Celebrated our 25th anniversary there!

By: on October 21, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to find this little gem.  Checking in was easy, we were greeted with a smile and a meow from Jordan the house cat. I can’t remember the gentleman’s name that helped us but I did see him later in town on a gorgeous Harley! He was friendly and helpful with the check in process of bags and parking. Our room was small but perfect for what we needed. The back porch and sitting area was quiet and well kept, like our own little oasis for relaxation. We enjoyed the pool after a hot walk through town with towels readily available.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and magical while sitting amongst the beautiful green foliage. The price was right and we would absolutely recommend the Merlin Guesthouse to any of our friends and family that visit Key West.  The only downfall was we stayed for only one night!

By: on October 21, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My husband and I found ourselves in Key West – local style (we decided to extend our stay but had nowhere to go). We called Historic Key West Inns and they found one room for us at the Merlin Guesthouse for two nights. Little did we know when we arrived…

The place was truly a fantasy. One block from famous Duval on a quiet street. The face of the building looked very quaint and when we stepped through the gate, we were whisked away to a private paradise: glorious, lush palms and ferns, trickling water, sparkling pool. And up the stairs to our room – double french doors opening to a studio unit complete with private balcony, king-size bed, sitting area, refrigerator – everything we needed and more.

Oh, and the service – superb: attentive and professional.

So, did we learn our lesson about staying in Key West without plans? Well no, not really. In fact, we kinda feel rewarded.

By: on October 21, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


From the moment we walked in the front gate, we were greeted with nothing but smiles! Every single person we came across was always so polite and so much fun to talk to. Kenneth was great to us! He was always happy to get us anything we needed, even though we locked BOTH keys in our room within 15 mins of arrival. Housekeeping staff was polite and considerate. The Maintenance guy went out of his way to make sure he didn’t get in ours. He was more than happy to put off staining the deck until we knew we would be gone for awhile. Everything was perfect. From the comfortable room, to the relaxing pool, to delicious breakfast. We couldn’t have asked for more. We have already planned our next stay, but this time we are bringing a lot more people. We loved it so much that we will be booking 12-15 rooms for our wedding guests in June!

Thank you and see you all in June!
Ryan and Ron
p.s. Jordon is the best!

By: on October 17, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


I stayed at the Merlin Guesthouse on October 10th for two nights in room 2. First and foremost, upon check-in, the  front desk attendant (unfortunately I don’t remember her name) was very kind and courteous. I was quickly checked-in, given keys, a colorful map, told about breakfast by the pool, introduced to Jordan the cat (apparently he liked the Merlin Guesthouse so much he decided to stay forever; he also seems to be very well taken care of and groomed regularly), given parking…and all with a smile. The bottom line is, the customer service was top-notch. Typically, Key West locals are fairly laid back, friendly, and relaxed. The staff at the Merlin Guesthouse not only exhibited this attitude, but were also professional and quite organized.

With regards to my room, it was great. The space was clean (I’m a clean freak….this place was super duper clean: shower, toilet, beautiful wooden floors, crisp white sheets, no dust on anything), very cozy, contemporary design, quiet as can be, and relaxed. What can I say….it was awesome!

And finally, the property is located on a quiet street about 2 minutes walking distance from Duval Street and other great Key West attractions including the Hemingway House and the Little White House. So, whether you’re walking, driving, or biking…..the Merlin’s location is quite convenient to everything (there’s also a CVS pharmacy about 5 minutes walking distance).

Key West is one of my favorite places in the world. Thankfully I only live about 3.5 hours away by car, so I can visit often. Now that I’ve discovered the Merlin Guesthouse, I will definitely return for another stay. Furthermore I highly recommend this property to all my friends, family, co-workers, and to all of you.

Thank you,

Andres Gonzalez

 

 

By: on October 15, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


My friend and I had a wonderful stay overall, very convenient to our activities: the harbor, Higgs Beach, Duval, bike rentals, secluded restaurants, The SoMo race, the airport for seaplane charter. The woman at the desk at check in spotted us a parking spot right away, so helpful. The staff was very pleasant. The safe could be bigger and a ceiling fan would be nice in the smaller Queen bed room. We enjoyed our stay!

Patricia Tripar and Colleen Kermode

By: on October 14, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

4 / 5


We had an amazing 5 days at Merlin Guesthouse! The room was super comfortable and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and Jordan the kitty was a sweetheart. We cannot wait to comeback again!!!

By: on October 13, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5


I recently visited my brother in Key West for 4 nights. I was by myself  with my 5 month old baby. The room was small but perfect! They had a pack-n play-already set up when I arrived!! What great service that was.

The location is excellent! I felt very safe as well! My brother came to pick me up one of the days and the desk clerk ( great guy but can’t remember his name) came out to make sure my brother was supposed to be there. It made me feel safe – especially traveling alone! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to people. The only thing I would improve would be the continental breakfast. It did have fresh local pastries, though.

By: on October 13, 2014
Hotel Reviewed: Merlin Guesthouse

5 / 5