Guest Reviews | Key West Hotel Reviews

Historic Key West Inns
725 Truman Avenue Key West Florida 33040 USA 800-549-4430
4.76 stars - based on 6432 reviews

We have been staying at Merlin for several years during Fantasy Fest. We usually stay in the same room every time. It’s always clean and comfortable. We like the size of the Merlin; small and quiet — not like most of the bigger resorts. It has a very cozy atmosphere, especially around the pool and patio area. It’s very tranquil to enjoy the patio breakfast every morning under the palm trees. The location is perfect! With a two minute walk to Duval, you can be right in the middle of everything. It’s hard to believe you are that close because it is so quiet at the Merlin. The best thing that keeps bringing us back to the Merlin is the employees. They are all cordial, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable when it comes to the area attractions and recommendations. We are always happy to see Linda when we check in — she is the best! We already have our reservations for next year and are looking forward to returning to the Merlin.

By: November 12, 2017

5 / 5 stars


My husband & I stayed for 3 nights at the end of October & were very happy with our choice. Pat checked us in & was fantastic! She is such a wonderful person & made us feel at home! The room was a nice size, clean, comfortable & great shower. Would recommend this property to anybody! Close enough to most everything with a couple great dinning options close by. 🙂

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


Was happy to fulfill ours pre-Erma plans to visit Key West and this location, with very reasonable rates, is perfectly situated for travelers coming down on the Key West Express! A scant 6 minute walk past Lucy’s this hotel has comfortable rooms and a pleasant staff. While away from the noise of Duval it’s still within easy walking distance. Thank y’all and look forward to returning soon!

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


Second time here and it was fabulous! Close to all you want to see and do but when you want a bit of peace you can have it! Staff great! Lovely area by the pool w bar and breakfast daily. It was my daughters first visit here and she is already talking about coming back.Im in!!!

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


This was our first time at Cypress House. In the past we have stayed at Merlin and Lighthouse Inns. The location of Cypress House is much more convenient, only two blocks from Duval, 2 blocks from the marina area, and a short walk from the Key West Express terminal. Cars and Cabs are not needed. The room was clean and up to date. The breakfasts were all that was necessary and the afternoon social hour was an added bonus. I highly recommend Cypress House.

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


Very thankful to have found this location during the aftermath of this years hurricane season. Everyone was very polite and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel in the future.

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


We stayed at the Chelsea House Hotel, on our Wedding Anniversary. The room was very cute and clean, it’s walking distance to  everything. The staff was excellent and we would most definitely stay there again.

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


We stayed at the Lighthouse Court in October.  The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful.  Our room was updated and clean.  The tropical landscaping is lovely and the location is perfect for getting to Duval Street.

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


The resort was in great condition all employees are very helpful and professional. The units are very clean and up to date. The house cleaning always came when we were away and left our room spotless. We would recommend this resort to anyone that wants to get away and stay at a beautiful, peaceful and clean hidden gem. Thanks for your great service.

By: November 9, 2017

5 / 5 stars


I faced quite a bit of negative input  from both the national news media and peers recommending I should reconsider my Key West plans so soon after Irma. My theory was the festival and supporting accommodations may be impacted, but the spirit of both would be stronger than ever, so I resisted.

Contact with the Cypress House was immediate and positive following the hurricane confirming my reservation was intact and the facility would be ready. This in fact was the case. It was obvious that everyone at the Cypress House had put forth a super effort to insure our stay would be as if nothing had happened.

The room was everything we’d hoped for….very short stroll to Duval…..tall ceilings……deck overlooking Caroline…..private bath with a wonderful updated shower. The first night I managed to lock us out on the deck with nothing but my cell phone…and I mean nothing! I called the main number and they were more than happy to come rescue us….no questions asked.

I initially was amazed that I could book a room here within 90 days of the major festival Key West has to offer, and at a reasonable price!

We’ll return again. This was our third stay at the Cypress House…..the first since Historic Key West Inns purchased the Inn. They’ve done a great job on room renovations.

By: November 8, 2017

5 / 5 stars